The NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) is an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India. For ease of reference, the following details are excerpted from NAAC Website.

Rationale: NAAC Assessment and Accreditation is broadly used for understanding the “Quality Status” of an institution. In the context of Higher Education, the accreditation status indicates that the particular Higher Educational Institutions (HEI) – a College, a University, or any other recognised Unit therein, meets the standards of quality as set by the Accreditation Agency, in terms of its performance, related to the educational processes and outcomes, covering the curriculum, teaching-learning, evaluation, faculty, research, infrastructure, learning resources, organisation, governance, financial well being and student services.

Grades: Institutions are graded for each Key Aspect under four categories, viz. A, B, C and D, denoting Very good, Good, Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory levels respectively. The summated score for all the Key Aspects under a Criterion is then calculated with the appropriate weightage applied to it and the GPA is worked out for the Criterion. The Cumulative GPA (CGPA), which gives the final Assessment Outcome, is then calculated from the seven GPAs pertaining to the seven criteria, after applying the prescribed weightage to each Criterion.

Range of Institutional Commulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) Letter Grade Status
3.51-4.00 A++ Accredited
3.26-3.50 A+ Accredited
3.26-3.50 AAccredited
3.26-3.50 B++ Accredited
2.51-2.75 B+ Accredited
2.01-2.50 BAccredited
1.51-2.00 CAccredited
≤1.50 DAccredited

Institutions which secure a CGPA equal to or less than 1.50 are notionally categorized under the letter grade “D”. Such unqualified institutions will also be initimated and notified by NAAC as “Assessed and Found not qualified for Accredition”. For more information please visit:

 Important NAAC Documents
* Number of Post sanctioned by Govt. Maharastra